Number of nations with anti-gay laws drops to 71

The world is continuing its slow march toward full recognition of the importance of the human rights of LGBTQ people. With last month’s repeal of the anti-sodomy law in the Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan, the number of countries with anti-LGBTQ laws dropped to 71, down from 92 early in this century. Map of the 71 countries where sexual relations between people of the same sex are illegal. Such laws apply in parts of Indonesia, so it is shown here in orange. Countries that recently repealed or overturned such laws include Bhutan (2021), Gabon (2020, repealing a law that had existed for only one year), Angola (2019 vote, taking effect in 2021), Botswana (2019), India (2018), Trinidad & Tobago (2018), Belize (2016), Seychelles (2016), Nauru (2016), Mozambique (2015), Palau (2014) and São Tomé and Príncipe (2014). Heading in the other direction, Chad adopted a new anti-gay law in 2017. Multiple court challenges aim to continue the decriminalization trend. Three men in Singapore are awaiting an appeals court decision on their coordinated challenge to that nation’s anti-homosexuality law. This month, Jamaican/Canadian activist Maurice Tomlinson has been in court arguing to overturn Jamaica’s laws against same-sex intimacy. He gained support from the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR), which declared last month that the country’s buggery laws should be repealed immediately because they violate the human rights of sexual minorities and deny them unimpeded access to health care.